Professions/Majors of SGM

Discussion in 'Off Topic Discussion' started by Python~, Apr 28, 2017.

1. Python~

Python~ Young Bard VIP Silver Emerald

These "___ of SGM" threads are really taking off, so I thought I'd make one

I think it'd be cool to hear about the professions of SGM. What do you do, what are you currently working on, what accomplishments have you achieved. Teach us something.

A few I have in mind:

Chemists: @HelixSpiral @Robokiller87
    Soldiers: @Lemon @Rozboon
    Engineers (Mechanical, Social): @PanzerShrimp @Serpentine
    Misc: @Milo (zookeeper)

And of course anyone else who wants to give a little (or a lot) insight into what it is they do

Last edited: Apr 30, 2017
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  2. neutral

neutral Banned VIP

I'm a molecular biologist, not a chemist.

• Funny x 5
    • Winner x 3
    • Like x 1
    • Informative x 1
    • Optimistic x 1
  3. CorallocinB

CorallocinB Animeme lord VIP Silver Emerald

What do I do?

As a soon to be undergraduate with a bachelor's degree in chemistry the world is my oyster in terms of what I could do in the future. Plans are to work as an analytical chemist which works with a variety of instrumentation that identifies molecules in unknown compositions.

What am I currently doing?

I am currently working on identifying the thermodynamic explanations behind why we observe retention times for specific molecules going through a C8 stationary phase using a 10:90 methanol:water mobile phase (which means we are working in the reverse phase. Nonpolar stationary phase, polar mobile phase) using High Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC). In commoner's terms: Why does a molecule go through a special, widely used commercial column faster than another?

What do I hope to accomplish?

I hope I graduate in 2 weeks. Seems extremely likely.

Teach you something.